I Don’t Like NaNoWriMo

That’s “National Novel Writing Month” for those of you not plagued by FB buddies who are all desperately churning out wordage. It’s a thing that started a handful of years ago. People of all walks of life are supposed to sit down and churn out fifty thousand words over November. 

I’m not convinced, myself. I’m all for writing fast when the muse is breathing down your neck. I can definitely do two thousand plus words a day, yep. But I’m not really sure it’s the way to turn out a decent novel, especially if you haven’t much practice. 

Still, this is the Last Bastion of Fun. I guess if folks are enjoying themselves, I’m game. But me? 

Well, I’ve written 5800 words in the last two days, but that’s nothing to do with NaNoWriMo. It’s not even the sequel to Path of Night. (Don’t worry. That’s not being neglected.) I’m just trying to catch up on a few short stories, you see, so I’ve drafted another one.

This one… I really like the idea. But there’s a lot going on in a small space. Sure, that’s one way of doing a good short story — and my favourites are those which create so much in their small space that they spill over, and the reader kind of joins the dots, completing a much larger story outside the scope of what’s written. (See Angela Slatter’s “Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean” from the Year’s Best anthology I recently reviewed. That’ll give you an idea of what I’m talking about.)

Anyway, the deadline for subs on this particular story zone isn’t too far off. I’ve got a couple weeks at best to shine it up. Ideally, I should bring it down by about five hundred words, but I just don’t think I can. To be honest, I think I’ve just written a novella into a short story form. 

Never mind. I’ll see what I can do with it. In the meantime, I have to go and prepare a big wok-full of nasi goreng. And then I’ve got a ju-jitsu training session.

Tomorrow’s another day.

Leave a Reply

